You are here

The North East Combined Authority (NECA)

What is the North East Combined Authority?

The North East Combined Authority brings together the seven councils which serve:

  • County Durham
  • Gateshead
  • Newcastle
  • North Tyneside
  • Northumberland
  • South Tyneside
  • Sunderland

It aims to:

  • increase growth in jobs
  • increase investment and living standards
  • make the North East an excellent location for business
  • help residents raise their skill levels and benefit from economic growth


In November 2017, the authorities of Newcastle, North Tyneside and Northumberland agreed a 'minded to' devolution deal with government for the North of Tyne. 

In order for the three councils to accept and implement the deal they must:

  • come out of the current North East Combined Authority (NECA), which comprises Durham, Gateshead, Newcastle, North Tyneside, Northumberland, South Tyneside and Sunderland
  • create a new mayoral combined authority for the North of Tyne area
  • create a joint transport committee to oversee transport arrangements across the whole of the North East

More information about the devolution proposals for the North of Tyne can be found at

Share this page