You are here

Road resurfacing


North Tyneside Council recognises that the condition of roads and pavements is a top priority for residents.

This year (2017/18) around £2.8million is being invested in the borough’s highway network. 

Much of the work to roads is aimed at preventative maintenance, which involves treating roads at the right time before major structural failure sets in. This extends their life and avoids the need for much costlier road replacements further down the line.

The preventative works will normally be through the use of micro-asphalt, which provides a new surface and seals the underlying road to prevent the intrusion of water, a major cause of deterioration.

Alternatively, road resurfacing is carried out when the road surface or its underlying layers have deteriorated to the point that they need to be replaced. The damaged layers are removed and new material is laid. 

The annual roads resurfacing and maintenance programme is delivered for North Tyneside Council by its technical services partner, Capita.

For more information about how the council decides which roads to improve, please visit the Highway Asset Management section.

Road improvements completed

The following roads, or parts of them, have been improved so far in 2017/18:

Benton ward: Station Road North; Eastfield Road; Carlton Road; Crescent Way North; Crescent Way South; Mead Avenue; Mowbray Road; Percy Gardens; Myrtle Crescent.​

Camperdown ward: Killingworth Way/A1056; Northgate; West Bailey; Wardle Drive; Hudson Avenue.​

Chirton ward: Ripley Avenue; The Quadrant; Deleval Street.

Collingwood ward: Preston Road.

Cullercoats ward: Torver Way; Thirlmere Avenue.

Howdon ward: Edward Road; Engine Inn Lane; Octavia Court; Dovecrest Court; Simonside Avenue; Craster Gardens; Rothbury Gardens; Newton Avenue; Lesbury Avenue; Cragside Gardens; St Peter’s Road.

Killingworth ward: Elizabeth Drive.

Longbenton ward: Edenbridge Crescent.

Monkseaton North ward: Claremont Gardens; Davison Avenue; Shaftesbury Avenue; Grasmere Crescent.​

Monkseaton South ward: Crawford Place; Melbourne Crescent; Seatonville Crescent; Seatonville Grove; Dowling Avenue; The Nook; Belvedere Avenue; Priory Avenue; Kingsley Avenue.

Northumberland ward: Sherwood View; Chicken Road; Primrose Gardens; Grace Gardens; Mulcaster Gardens.

Preston ward: North Road; Walton Avenue; Tudor Avenue; Preston Road. 

Riverside ward: Nelson Terrace; St John’s Green; Firtrees Avenue; Woodman Street; Millers Bank.

St Mary’s ward: Hastings Avenue; Woodburn Drive; Collingwood Road; Woodburn Square; Rodney Way; Nevis Way. ​

Tynemouth ward: Hotspur Street (Tynemouth village); East George Street; George Street; East Percy Street; Bell Street; Union Quay; Upper Camden Street; Church Way; The Broadway; Beach Road.

Valley ward: Park Avenue (Shiremoor); Earsdon Road (Shiremoor); Lesbury Avenue; Castle Square​.

Wallsend ward: Station Road; North Road; Beech Grove; Buddle Street; Hadrian Road; Lillian Avenue.

Weetslade ward: Melness Road; Beacon Drive; Elvet Close; Aidan Close; Hornsea Close; Remus Close; Torver Close; Norham Close; Mayfield Place; Priory Place; Austral Place; Seaton Place.

Whitley Bay ward: Percy Road.



Future improvements

The following schemes have been reprogrammed and are now planned for the 2018/19 financial year:

Battle Hill ward: Mullen Road; Warkworth Avenue.

Benton ward: Springfield Park Road.

Collingwood ward: Billy Mill Lane; Lynn Road.

Riverside ward: Ropery Lane; Western Road; Bewicke Road.

St Mary's ward: Front Street, Earsdon. 

Valley ward: Park Crescent; Grange Avenue; Earsdon View.

Weetslade ward: Great North Road.

Whitley Bay ward: Ocean View.


Share this page