Types of elections


Everyone in the area covered by North Tyneside district is represented by:

  • three local councillors
  • an Elected Mayor for North Tyneside
  • an MP
  • a Police and Crime Commissioner for Northumbria
  • An Elected Mayor for the North of Tyne Combined Authority - comprising North Tyneside, Newcastle and Northumberland councils

General Elections

General elections take place once every 5 years. In general elections you vote to elect somebody to represent your views in Parliament, as an MP.

Two constituencies cover North Tyneside Council:

  • North Tyneside
  • Tynemouth

Visit the UK Parliament for more information.

Local Elections

Local elections are held on a 4-year cycle, there is an election every 3 years and none in the 4th year.

In local elections, you vote to elect somebody to represent your views in the Council, as a councillor.

There are 20 electoral wards in North Tyneside -  each has three councillors.

Mayoral Election

A mayoral election is held every four years and in this election you vote for an elected Mayor for North Tyneside.

For more information about the role of Elected Mayor visit the Elected Mayor web pages.


Police and Crime Commissioner Election

The Northumbria Police and Crime Commissioner (NPCC) election is held every 4 years and you vote for somebody to oversee the police in the Northumbria area.

Find out more about the role of the Police and Crime Commissioner.

North of Tyne Combined Authority Mayoral Election


The first North of Tyne Combined Mayoral Election was held in May 2019.  In this election voters in North Tyneside, Newcastle City and Northumberland vote for the elected mayor for the newly created North of Tyne Combined Authority.

There is a separate website that provides more detail about the North of Tyne Combined Authority and the Mayor.  You can find out more at North of Tyne CA

Information on the role and responsibilities of the mayor is available in the document below.

Related documents


A by-election is held to fill a political office vacancy that becomes available between regularly scheduled elections. This is usually due to the death or resignation of the person holding the office in question.


A referendum is a general vote by the electorate on a single political question, which has been referred to them for a direct decision.